Every Student Succeeding Award Ceremony

17 inspirational students received the Every Student Succeeding award

Congratulations to the inspirational San Joaquin County students who received the Every Student Succeeding award!


The annual awards are presented by the Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) to celebrate students who succeeded despite facing difficult challenges, including overcoming physical and mental barriers, improving attendance, returning to school, changing their attitude, or changing their lives.


Nominated by supporters in their schools, the 17 students were recognized at a breakfast ceremony at the San Joaquin County Office of Education (SJCOE) on Feb. 8, where administrators, teachers, and families came together to honor the students and their achievements.


Each of the 17 stories were as unique as the students, themselves. They faced homelessness, family tragedy, learning differences, or personal illness and were still able to push themselves forward and, often, support others.


"I wanted to become something better for my siblings and my daughter," said Cayla Alvarez, one award-winner who overcome her challenges and is now a student leader, varsity athlete, and senior at Mountain House High School headed toward graduation and college.


The awardees are:


Lilliann Ruiz and Samantha Hagan (Escalon USD)

Cayla Alvarez (Lammersville USD)

Avya Arrien and Lilliana Otey (Lincoln USD)

Brooklyn Armanino (Linden USD)

Amber Way, Orlin Josue Perez Rodriguez and Xavier Gabriel Avila (Manteca USD)

Yaratzarani Aguilar Ontiveros (New Jerusalem ESD)

Joselin Figueroa, Ocean Cook (Ripon USD)

Karry Marie Colon-Siles and A. Z. (SJCOE)

Adrian Belloso, Jorge Bolin, and Milagros Miranda (Tracy Unified School District)

Posted: 2/8/2023